Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Louisiana - Parish Map, with Cities, Louisiana State Map

Here is the parish map of Louisiana with cities and information about the beautiful state.

Louisiana is situated in the southern part of U.S. Baton Rouge is the capital of Louisiana and New Orleans is its largest city. Louisiana alone has political divisions known as parishes. They are like local governments equal to counties. By land area the largest parish is Cameron Parish and the most populated is East Baton Rouge Parish.

Few cities have many different cultures and languages; this is so because around the eighteenth century it was inhabited by different people from different countries like France, Africa. Native American Indians also made an impact. Before it became a state, Louisiana was a colony of Spain and France. Also it imported slaves from Africa, through which African cultures got entry and prevailed.

Louisiana has been segregated in 64 parishes in the same way as counties of other states are divided. Council called as Police Jury governs 41 parishes, the rest 23 are governed by council-manager, parish commission, president-council and consolidated city or parish. Colonies of France and Spain who were Roman Catholic formed the state of Louisiana. It was formed on the basis of parishes i.e. as per the local ecclesiastical division. In 1803 after the Purchase of Louisiana the Territorial Legislative Council made divisions of the Territory of Orleans in 12 councils. Orleans preceded the state of Louisiana.

The boundaries were not clear and were poor but it was in line with the parishes of the colonies and thereby the names did not change.In the year 1811, it was decided to allow Louisiana into the Union. A convention was programmed for this purpose. It divided the state into 7 legal i.e. judicial districts of which every district had parish groups. In 1816 and 1845 the word ‘parish’ was used officially and till now same term is being used for its primary civil divisions.

Lousiana State Map

Louisiana parish list

Here is the list of parishes in Louisiana 

1 Acadia
2 Allen
3 Ascension
4 Assumption
5 Avoyelles
6 Beauregard
7 Bienville
8 Bossier
9 Caddo
10 Calcasieu
11 Caldwell
12 Cameron CAMN
13 Catahoula
14 Claiborne
15 Concordia
16 DeSoto DSTO
17 East Baton Rouge
18 East Carroll
19 East Feliciana
20 Evangeline
21 Franklin
22 Grant
23 Iberia
24 Iberville
25 Jackson
26 Jefferson
27 Jefferson Davis
28 Lafayette
29 Lafourche
30 LaSalle
31 Lincoln
32 Livingston
33 Madison
34 Morehouse
35 Natchitoches
36 Orleans
37 Ouachita
38 Plaquemines
39 Pointe Coupee
40 Rapides
41 Red River
42 Richland
43 Sabine
44 St. Bernard
45 St. Charles
46 St. Helena
47 St. James
48 St. John
49 St. Landry
50 St. Martin
51 St. Mary
52 St. Tammany
53 Tangipahoa
54 Tensas
55 Terrebonne
56 Union
57 Vermilion
58 Vernon
59 Washington
60 Webster
61 West Baton Rouge
62 West Carroll
63 West Feliciana
64 Winn

Louisiana Parish Map

Louisiana map with cities

The major cities in Louisiana are New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Shreveport, LaFayette, Lake Charles, Kenner, Bossier City, Alexandria,  Monroe and  New Iberia. Let us look at these cities and many others in the map. 


Post a Comment