Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Arizona County Map, with Cities, Arizona State Map

Check out the Arizona county map, the state map and Arizona map with cities.

Arizona State Map

The state of Arizona is situated in the southwestern part of the United States. It is also included as a part of the mountain west and the western United States.

It is one of the Four Corner states and is bordered by other states such as Utah, California, Nevada and New Mexico. In addition, it has an international border which is around 389 miles long, with the states of Baja California and Sonora in Mexico.

The largest city of Arizona is Phoenix which is also the capital city. Tucson is the second biggest; Eight Phoenix metropolitan area cities such as Glendale, Scottsdale, Tempe, Surprise, Mesa, Chandler, Gilbert and Peoria follow it in size; Finally, Flagstaff in Coconino County concludes the list of big cities by size in Arizona.

Arizona County Map

Arizona was the last region in the continental United States to achieve statehood. It did so on February 14, 1912 and became the 48th state in the United States. The state is famous for its desert-like climate, mild winters and very hot summers. In addition, it is equally famous for the mountain ranges present in the northern high country and the pine forests that have much cooler temperatures as compared to the deserts located in the lower regions of the state.

Arizona is the biggest landlocked state by population. Besides the Grand Canyon, there are several types of monuments and parks as well as various other national forests that are located in the state of Arizona. It is also notable that more than one-fourth of the land is Federal Trust Land which is home to several indigenous American Indians such as the Apache, Navajo Nation, the various Yuman tribes, the Hopi tribe, etc.

Arizona cities map

The state of Arizona has 15 counties and all of them excluding the La Paz County were formed after the region achieved statehood. Most of the names of counties pay homage to the various native groups that reside in the state of Arizona.

The FIP code of Arizona is 04 and its postal abbreviation is AZ.
The counties are as follows:
1. Apache
2. Cochise
3. Coconino
4. Gila
5. Graham
6. Greenlee
7. La Paz
8. Maricopa
9. Mohave
10. Navajo
11. Pima
12. Pinal
13. Santa Cruz
14. Yavapai
15. Yuma


Post a Comment